Assault Charges in Genesee County
Each state specifies its own levels and definitions of assault in individualized criminal code. Assault is defined differently when it comes to the distinct action committed and sentencing. If you have been convicted in the state of Michigan, it is important to understand the state laws concerning assault.
The most basic form of assault is referred to as “simple assault”. This entails the intentional threat or injury to another person. In Michigan, simple assault is classified as a misdemeanor, usually resulting in $500 in fines and a sentence of up to 93 days in jail. “Aggravated assault”, also considered a misdemeanor in Michigan, does not include a weapon but results in a critical or aggravated injury unto the other person. Aggravated assault is punishable by $1,000 in fines and up to one year in prison. If you face any types of assault charges, your first step is to call a Flint criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.
There are different tiers to “felony assault”. Assault with a Dangerous Weapon (or Felonious Assault) insinuates that there is no intention of harm, but great bodily harm or death is caused (this felony is only intensified if the assault involved a deadly weapon). The sentence for this type of felony assault includes fines up to $2,000 and up to four years in prison. Assault with Intent to Maim refers to the intentional removal or permanent injury to a person’s body or face, and it is punishable with $5,000 in fines and up to ten years in prison. Assault with Intent to do Great Bodily Harm (less than murder) is defined as a person who causes serious impairment of a bodily function or internal injury, severe cuts, severe burns, poisoning, or multiple puncture wounds. Those found guilty face the same sentence as those with Intent to Maim. Assault with Intent to Commit Murder leads an individual to a potential life sentence in Michigan. When it comes to Assault with Intent to Rob and Steal, the punishment depends on whether a dangerous weapon was involved. If not, the estimated prison sentence is up to 15 years. If there was a weapon, the guilty faces up to a life sentence in prison.
Seek Help from an Assault Attorney in Flint, MI
Shaun R. Marks, P.C., has 16 years of experience defending those who have been charged with an assault offense. Do not face these charges alone. Get the quality legal aid that you need. As well as the Genesee County area, my firm proudly serves Oakland County, Lapeer County, Shiawassee County and Saginaw County.
For legal assistance in an aggressive defense against charges, contact a Flint assault defense lawyer today.